Skip to content
Australia is Awesome!

Australia is Awesome!

March 13, 2015

Australia is Awesome!

Covering a total area of 7.69 million square kilometers, mainland Australia is the world's largest island, but smallest continent. The continent stretches about 3700 kilometers from North to South and 4000 kilometers from east to West, making it the 6th largest nation. Australia currently has a population of almost 23 million people. Australia is divided into six states and 2 territories. Canberra is the national capital and the center of government.

New South Wales is Australia's oldest and most populated state. More than a third of Australians live in New South Wales and Sydney is the nation's largest city.

Victoria is the smallest of the mainland states in size, but second most populated. Melbourne is the capital and Australia's second most populated city.

Queensland is Australia's second largest state in size. The state capital is Brisbane., the third most populated city in Australia.

South Australia is a state in the central part of the country which covers some of the most arid parts of the continent. It is the fourth largest of Australia's states . The state capital is Adelaide, the fifth largest city in Australia.

Darwin is on the northern coast and is the capital of the Northern Territory. Alice Springs is the principal inland town and the physical "heart" of Australia. The Northern Territory is home to Uluru (Ayers Rock), Kata Tjuta (the Olgas) and Kakadu National Park.

Western Australia is Australia's largest state by area. Most of the state's population live in the capital, Perth, which is the fourth most populated city in Australia.

Tasmania is the smallest state in Australia. It's capital is Hobart. Tasmania is actually separtaed from mainland Australia by Bass Strait.

External territories of Australia include Ashmore and Carter Islands, Christmas Island, the Cocos Islands, the Coral Sea Islands, Heard and McDonald Islands, Norfolk Island and the Australian Antarctic Territory.

Australia experiences temperate weather for most of the year. The Northern States experience the warm weather much of the time, with Southern Sates having cooler winters. Australia is one of the driest continents with an annual rainfall of less than 600 meters. Sydney's climate is temperate al year round with more than 340 sunny days a year. Melbourne has more changeable weather with warm to hot summers and cool winters. Adelaide has mild, wet winters and hot dry summers.Cairns, Queensland, has low rainfall and hot summers with a more tropical climate.

Australia has an estimated 27,700 plant species including living fossils, such as the cycad palm and the grass tree and brilliant wildflowers. Gum trees are the tree most commonly associated with Australia. They are found in the Greater Blue Mountains. The Blue Mountains gets its name from the blue shimmer which rises into the air from the oil in the trees. Koalas feed on these species.

The unique animals are one of the many reasons people visit Australia. Some of the best known animals  are the kangaroo, koala, echidna, dingo, platypus, wallaby and wombat.